Happy New Year

31 12 2009

Happy new years to all and I hope your Christmas was enjoyable!

I have done a little bit of work on my little project so here are the latest pics I have of the work taking place.
In these pics I have started the removable headrest protection area, while most will know what this section is, for the others…its a section that sits around the drivers head and continues down to almost in line with the wheel. This section can be  removed by driver to aid in getting in and out of the car.

It is still possible to get in and out with out removing this section, but it is rather a tight fit and requires angling the shoulder to do it. The width is regulated by the FIA but as a practical size when it’s installed it makes the cockpit opening about the width of your hips.

Not finished in those pics but you can see even though it looks rather crude it’s starting to take form.

I also got a chance to drag the rig out side to add and shape the largest top piece of the nose area.

So there you have it… :)

More pics soon as I want to try and get it all assembled in January so I can get it painted….hmmmm now to chose a colour. I swore it wasn’t going to be red but now one Schumi has left maybe I can once again support Ferrari…!!! Don’t know now…hmmmmm. Maybe I’ll make my own livery?!?!

While I consider MS to be one of the best drivers ever, he isn’t THE BEST imho… 

Ayrton Senna holds that crown and will for some time.

In saying that I am pumped that Schumi has decided to make a come back..The 2010 F1 season is looking like it will be an absolute cracker! Can’t wait.

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 01 2010
themark

That is looking really awesome. You’re putting in a lot of effort that will pay off in the long run. I envy the time and space you have available for this. I live in Japan, so space is at a premium. It turns out that it’s a good thing you opened this blog now that RSC has folded. I can still keep track of your progress. Happy New Year!

12 03 2010
abner melo gomes

Brave, congratulations for cockpit of f1 that it voceconstruiu. Cockpit of f1 similar to this was the much time looking for in internete one and found its site through xtremeracer.info and liked very. Already I bought plates of mdf and would like to know if you can help me sending for email the project with the measures of its cockpit therefore you do not have notion of the measures. I repaired that he does not have information of the pedals will have itself send could me? He would like to know that he substantiates is this that turns a foam and which is the function of the buttons that estao in the console of cockpit next to the seat? I am of the city of São Paulo in Brazil and would like much that helped to construct to this cockpit me fenomenal. You this of congratulations. Yours truly, ABNER

27 03 2010
iplayz

Thanks mate, I’ll try and get some measurements together for you in the next few days…

27 03 2010
abner melo gomes

OK, I am waiting. Thanks a lot!

24 07 2012
Cameron

Hey man where’d you get the wheel from. Am In Australia and wondering where you can get this?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

